THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES Temple University – Of The Commonwealth System of Higher Education

Academic Affairs, Student Success, and Diversity Committee

Tuesday, May 2, 2023, at 1:00 p.m.

Video Conferencing

MINUTES

PUBLIC SESSION

PARTICIPANTS

Trustees:

Jane Scaccetti, Chair Bret S. Perkins, Vice Chair Mitchell L. Morgan, Ex-Officio Barry C. Arkles Nelson A. Diaz Sandra Harmon-Weiss John F. Street

Acting President: JoAnne A. Epps

University Secretary: Michael B. Gebhardt University Counsel: Cameron J. Etezady

Administration and Staff:

Marylouise C. Esten, Interim Chief of Staff Stephanie Ives, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs Jeremy Jordan, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Jodi Levine Laufgraben, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Gregory N. Mandel, Provost

Non-Voting Representative:

LaShea Davis-Williams, Alumni Representative

Ms. Scaccetti, Chair of the Academic Affairs, Student Success, and Diversity Committee, called the Public Session meeting to order.

<u>Item</u> <u>Description</u>

Approvals

AR-1 Academic Affairs, Student Success, and Diversity Committee minutes, from February 22, 2023

Chair Scaccetti called for a motion to approve the minutes of the prior meeting. Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the minutes were approved.

AR-2 Consideration of Tenure

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Academic Affairs, Student Success, and Diversity Committee approved the recommendation of the Acting President, pursuant to the procedures outlined in the *Temple University Faculty Handbook* and the Collective Bargaining Agreement between Temple University – Of The Commonwealth System of Higher Education and the Temple Association of University Professionals, regarding the granting of faculty tenure, and also recommend that the Board of Trustees grant tenure to the faculty on the list on file in the Office of the Provost. [The tenure dossiers are available for review in the Office of the Provost.]

AR-3 Transfer of Tenure Various Faculty Members

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Academic Affairs, Student Success, and Diversity Committee approved the recommendation to transfer the tenure of the faculty members list below, as set forth in Agenda Reference 3:

- Transfer of Tenured Associate Professor Maia Cucchiara from the Department of Teaching and Learning in the College of Education and Human Development to the Department of Policy, Organizational, and Leadership Studies in the College of Education and Human Development
- Transfer of Tenured Professor Janice Laurence from the Department of Psychological Studies in Education in the College of Education and Human Development to the Department of Policy, Organizational, and Leadership Studies in the College of Education and Human Development
- Transfer of Tenured Professor W. Joel Schneider from the Department of Policy, Organizational, and Leadership Studies in the College of Education and Human Development to the Department of Psychological Studies in Education in the College of Education and Human Development
- Transfer of Tenured Professor David Essex from the Department of Medicine in the Lewis Katz School of Medicine to the Department of Cardiovascular Sciences in the Lewis Katz School of Medicine

AR-4 Academic Program Actions

Vice Provost Laufgraben described the academic program actions set forth in Agenda Reference 4.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Academic Affairs, Student Success, and Diversity Committee recommended to the Board of Trustees that the officers be authorized to implement the five academic program actions set forth in the items described in Agenda Reference 4.

Reports

AR-5 Changes in Array, Certificates and Programs in Abeyance

Accepted as presented.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at approximately 2:55 p.m.