THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES Temple University-Of The Commonwealth System Of Higher Education

External Affairs and Development Committee

Monday, October 7, 2024, at 1:00 p.m.

1810 Liacouras Walk / Video Conferencing

MINUTES

PUBLIC SESSION

PARTICIPANTS

Trustees: Bret S. Perkins, Chair Mitchell L. Morgan, Ex-Officio Barry C. Arkles Susanna Lachs Amy Larovere Solomon C. Luo Joseph W. Marshall, III Tiffany A. Wilson

President: Richard M. Englert **University Secretary:** Michael B. Gebhardt **University Counsel:** Cameron J. Etezady

Administration and Staff:

Mary Burke, VP for Institutional Advancement Marylouise Esten, VP and Chief of Staff Valerie I. Harrison, VP DEI, and Community Impact Kenneth H. Kaiser, SVP and Chief Operating Officer Angela Polec, VP for Strategic Marketing and Communications George Kenney, Associate Vice President for Government Affairs Catrina Tillman, Director of Gift Policies and Procedures

Non-Voting Faculty Representatives:

Shohreh Amini, Faculty Senate President Di Liu

Non-Voting Alumni Representatives:

Kia Johnson Saadiq Stewart Mr. Perkins, Co-Chair of the External Affairs and Development Committee, called the meeting to order.

AR-1 Minutes from June 12, 2024

Mr. Perkins called for a motion to approve the minutes of the prior meeting. Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the minutes were approved.

AR-2 Ratification of Establishment of Epps Undergraduate Scholarship Fund

WHEREAS, during her lifetime, President JoAnne A. Epps served as a model of leadership and mentorship, with an unwavering belief that education is a powerful catalyst for positive social change. Her impact on Temple students across campus changed lives. To honor her commitment and passion for supporting students, the University has established the JoAnne A. Epps Endowed Undergraduate Scholarship to provide financial assistance to Temple students who embody her spirit of pursuing accomplishment for the greater good.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the External Affairs and Development Committee, upon the recommendation of the Gift Acceptance Committee (10/3/2024), recommend that the Board of Trustees ratify the naming of the JoAnne A. Epps Endowed Undergraduate Scholarship, as described in Agenda Reference 2.

Adjournment

The Public Session adjourned at approximately 2:45 p.m.